Understand. Support. Challenge. by Patrice Lawrence – Guest Post #DiversityMonth

Great post from UK author Patrice Lawrence, author of Orangeboy.

01151210-01-lawrence070Born in Brighton to Caribbean parents, living in London, I have been writing since I could. I’ve run the gamut of painful rhyming couplets, existentialist teenage diaries and – er – true romance.

I’ve published some serious stuff, about equality and rights, as well as adult and children’s short stories through Hamish Hamilton, A and C Black and Pearsons, amongst others. I’m good at running workshops, talking to lots of people and training. I’m not good at seeing departure boards (or people I know) without my glasses or whistling. I’m represented by the Caroline Sheldon Literary Agency.

@LawrencePatrice…………patricelawrence.wordpress.com

Understand. Support. Challenge.
by Patrice Lawrence

Ten years ago or so, I was at a conference about educational inequality.  In 1985, the Swann Report tried to unpick why certain children, often those of Caribbean heritage, were not attaining the same results as their white peers. It is a conversation…

View original post 1,895 more words

About g.r.del

reading, writing and the rest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

