Picture Books for End Times

 

Bad times are coming. And all we can do is keep working, striving, spreading the word about good things and fighting bad things.

But if you’re finding it hard to read your kids bedtime stories right now, try these:

 

This book is a stunning, original combination of words (Maya Angelou) and pictures (Jean-Michel Basquiat)

Don’t show me frogs and snakes 

And listen for my screams

If I’m afraid at all

It’s only in my dreams

I’ve got a magic charm 

That I keep up my sleeve

I can walk the ocean floor

And never need to breathe

Life doesn’t frighten me at all

More  on Brainpickings 

 

This beautiful poem by Nikki Giovanni, illustrated by Chris Raschka shows a mother, weaving a sky blue dress for her daughter. Dedicated to Nina Simone.

careful baby

don’t prick your finger

take the air

and weave the sky

around the black loom

around the black loom

make the sky sing a black song

sing a blue song

 

About g.r.del

reading, writing and the rest. @storyvilled on twitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

